Singing the Blues

April 26, 2010

The list was made.  Five simple things: a 250 watt infrared light bulb with housing, feed and a feeder, waterer, bedding.  Pay, go home, set up the brooder and get the temperature regulated.

When Mr. CV and I pulled into the parking lot, I immediately noticed it was full. That’s a bit unusual, especially if you know this particular burg, as the large chain pet stores have put at least three Mom and Pop’s out of business.  I was glad to see this, but raised a brow, wondering what might be going on.  The answer was obvious as soon as we walked in the door.

The chick display is immediately inside the entrance to the store.  Smart people at Kahoot’s.  Children and adults were gathered around, looking at the fresh crop of babies that had just arrived that morning.  No problem, I thought to myself.  We’re not here to buy the birds…just equipment and supplies.  Right.  But, as I peered over one small child’s head, I notice a series of notes taped around the brooder box.  “Reserve 12 for Anne.”  “Reserve 8 for Mrs. Greene.”  Reserve, reserve…Paid, paid, paid.

Hmmm…

Choosing to ignore the notes for the time being, we focused on our original task, gathering up everything we needed, except the feed.  One of the staff, Lisa, approached and asked if we needed help, ready and willing to offer anything we needed.  (At this point I have to comment on how refreshing it was to speak with someone who actually knew what they were talking about, rather than some poor kid who got thrown onto the sales floor his first day on the job.)  Of course, the question needed to be asked.  “Ameraucanas,” Lisa answered.  “And, we won’t be getting anymore for several weeks.”  Ameraucanas.  Blue eggs.  Mr. CV only had to take one look at me and it was all over.  Misc. Live Poultry, 2 @ 3.98, was the last item on our sales receipt.

See you tomorrow.

10 Responses to “Singing the Blues”

  1. Kat Says:

    ooooh i am SO excited – i really want chickens too so i’ll be keen to watch how you get on!

    good luck! xxxxx

    • Toni Says:

      I will do my best! We will certainly have different climate issues, but hopefully I will have some general stuff to offer! BTW, a certain almost-four-year-old thinks I should name them Peggy and Ruth!

      • Kat Says:

        i vote for Twinkie and Tootsie. heheh. i think if we get chickens it will be more grown up ones sadly.

        • Toni Says:

          We’ve decided that when it’s time to replace these birds, or add to the flock, we’re going to go to the local animal rescue and pick from there. I would have done it this time, but being completely unfamiliar with the process of raising them, I thought I’d start from scratch. :)

  2. Nancy Canada Says:

    Misc. poultry? Oh geeze. Can’t you do online purchasing to get your Ameraucanas? I’m sure whatever you got will grow up to something wonderful… You have the Midas touch with growing anything.:)

    • Toni Says:

      I can get them online, but they were there, peeping and happy! I had to get them. :D With luck, what I originally wanted – Rhode Island Reds – will be in on Wednesday.

  3. Chi Says:

    If one of them is a male, name him Bo!
    As for the girl, I do love Ruth!

    Bo and Ruth =)

  4. Rain Says:

    Words cannot express how jealous I am. LOL Rest assured I’ll be reading this blog faithfully. And I vote for Lucy and Ethel, although that shows my age. ;D


Leave a Reply

