Who Knows What Evil Lurks in My Backyard?

June 16, 2010

The chickens know!

Feathered and furred they come morning and night, seeking out my chicks. But, morning and night they are turned away, thanks to that wonderful invention called wire fencing. Let me back up a week…

The first night the girls slept in the coop I didn’t sleep. Not surprisingly, as I did the same thing the first night I brought them home. I worried…would they be too cold? Would they freak out at their unfamiliar surroundings? Were they getting enough air circulation? On and on it went, waking me up and keeping me awake too long.

Morning finally rolled around and I quickly went outside to check. They were all, of course, fine and dandy. I’m sure that Ginger cocked a brow at me (do chickens have eyebrows?), wondering at the worried look on my face. I opened up the hatch door to let them into the pen, but no one made a move to walk down the ladder. The four of them gathered around the opening and looked outside, studying the great outdoors from a safe place. Back into the house I went, making coffee and doing the usual morning stuff, with plans to check on them a little later.

About thirty minutes later, Mr. CV called from the kitchen. “Come here…you’ve got to see this!” I quickly made my way across the house, only to find that I had arrived too late. Seems that one of our neighborhood cats, Mr. Boots, had settled himself comfortably on the top of the pen, watching the chicks as they sat inside the doorway. To think that I had briefly considered not putting a top on the run. What fools these chicken virgins be!

That brings us to tonight, when Mr. Boots decided to make a reappearance. This time I was armed and ready. Apologies for the fuzziness of the first pics. They were taken through a window from quite a distance.

Across the vast Serengeti, I spy my prey. I creep.

Mmmmmm....they're getting fatter every day!

The red ones! I want those!

Hey, guys! Where are you going? I only wanted to talk!

Teases! See if I ever come and visit you, again!

At this point, Mr. Boots spotted me and took off to the other side of the yard, where more easily accessible prey was perched on the bird feeder.

Speaking of birds!

Sorry, you’ll have to wait. :)

6 Responses to “Who Knows What Evil Lurks in My Backyard?”

  1. Birgitt Says:

    He won’t attach them. At least not when they’re full sized! My four were afraid of the two hens I brought home. Huey circled curiously, but Ellie and Bailey kept their distance and fled when I brought them over. LOL I’t just feline instinct + curiousity.

    And a flock of grown hens makes quite a riot when disturbed.

    But yes, you needed the top for the raccoons which are the real danger.

    • Toni Says:

      Not putting on the top was only a fleeting thought, when I was musing about not having to duck every time I went into the pen. Hawks, red-tailed and Cooper’s, are our worst enemy, as you will see in an upcoming post. :D

  2. maddie365 Says:

    Our neighbor’s cat, Socks, comes across the road a lot and he loves our chickens. I think he knows they are bigger than he is so he won’t try to get in and actually catch one but he will sit outside the coop in the bushes and gaze at them for hours… probably dreaming of how tasty they might be if he could have one. The girls just ignore him now as part of the scenery :-)

    Your coop looks great too!

    • Toni Says:

      Interestingly, they seem to feel very secure and only ran when the cat approached the first time. After that, they were…’whatever.’ *grins* As I type, I’m looking out the window and see Mr. Boots is back. Pondering a late breakfast, maybe? Poor guy is doomed to be disappointed.

      Regarding the coop, thanks! Mr. CV will be happy that you approved.

  3. Jill Says:

    I’ve actually seen my Ladies gang up on the neighborhood cat and chase her away!

    Your girls have a *beautiful* coop! I won’t let mine see it – they would be very jealous :)

    • Toni Says:

      The coop was a labor of love for Mr. CV. I’ll be sure to let him know that you like it. :)

      Glad to hear that your Ladies can fend for themselves against a cat. I shall rest easier. :)


Leave a Reply

